Central Java General Information

In brief

Central Java

General Information Central Java Indonesia

Welcome to Central Java, The Culture Wonder…
Located in the middle of the island of Java, the Central Java province is bordered by West and East Java Provinces. Central Java is also located next to Yogyakarta Special Region province. Yogyakarta is historically and culturally part of the Central Java region, although it is now a separate administrative entity.

The average temperature in Central Java is between 18–28 degrees Celsius and the relative humidity varies between 73–94 percent. While a high level of humidity exists in most low-lying parts of the province, it drops significantly in the upper mountains. The highest average annual rainfall of 3,990 mm with 195 rainy days was recorded in Salatiga. The geography of Central Java is regular with small strips of lowlands near the northern and southern coast with mountain ranges in the centre of the region. To the west lies an active stratovolcano Mount Slamet and further east is the Dieng Volcanic Complex on Dieng Plateau. Southeast of Dieng lies the Kedu Plain, this is bordered to the east side by the twin volcanoes of Mount Merapi and Mount Merbabu. South of Semarang, lies Mount Ungaran and to the north-east of the city lies Mount Muria on the most northern tip of Java. To the east near the border with East Java lies Mount Lawu, where its eastern slopes are in the East Java province.

Due to its active volcanic history, volcanic ash makes Central Java highly fertile agriculture land. Paddy fields are extensive, except in the south-eastern Gunung Kidul region partly due to the high concentration of limestone and its location in a rain shadow from the prevailing weather. The largest rivers are the Serayu in the west, which empties into the Indian Ocean, and the Solo which flows into East Java.